Font settings
PT Sans
Times New Roman
Letter spacing
Color scheme
Black<br/>on white
White<br/>on blue
House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus
The seventh convocation
Main / Press Office / News

Press Office

08 July 2019

8 July 2019, the parliamentary delegation of the Republic of Belarus finished participation in the 28th annual session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly in Luxembourg.

On July 8, 2019, the closing plenary meeting of the 28th annual session of the OSCE PA was held.

Mr. Valery Voronetsky, Chairperson of the Standing Commission of the House of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus on International Affairs, during his speech underlined that Belarus is interested in reducing tensions, deepening mutual trust, resolving conflicts and, eventually, developing reliable regional security mechanisms in the OSCE area. In that connection, he drew the attention of the Parliamentary Assembly to the initiative of the Belarusian Head of state to resume a large-scale international dialogue on security matters by analogy with the Helsinki Process. Mr. Valery Voronetsky urged the participants of the session to engage in a respectful and constructive dialogue on all the current issues on the OSCE agenda, without politicization for the sake of consolidation, confidence-building, and enhancing the role of the OSCE PA in international affairs.

Members of the Parliamentary Assembly heard the reports from Ms. Doris Barnett, Treasurer of the OSCE PA, and Mr. Roberto Montella, OSCE PA Secretary General, reports on the activities of the OSCE PA committees on migration and counter-terrorism, special representatives and OSCE PA election observation missions.

The 28th Annual Session culminated in the adoption of the Luxembourg Declaration, which includes the resolution “Strategic Foresight for Science, Technology and Innovation for Sustainable Development” initiated by the Belarusian Parliament.

During the elections to the leadership positions of the Assembly Mr. George Tsereteli was re-elected OSCE PA President for 2020. Three Vice-Presidents are Mr. Azay Guliyev (Azerbaijan), Mr. Victor Paul Dobre (Romania) and Ms. Nilza de Sena (Portugal). The Assembly elected Mr. Peter Juel Jensen, the Head of the OSCE PA’s Danish Delegation, as Treasurer of the OSCE PA.

Members of the Committee on Political Affairs and Security re-elected Mr. Filippo Lombardi (Switzerland) Chair, Mr. Costel Neculai Dunava (Romania) Vice Chair, and Mr. Laurynas Kasciunas (Lithuania) Rapporteur. In the Committee on Economic Affairs, Science, Technology and Environment, members elected Ms. Sofio Katsarava (Georgia) Chair, Mr. Artur Gerasymov (Ukraine) Vice-Chair and Ms. Elona Gjebrea Hoxha (Albania) Rapporteur. The Committee on Democracy, Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions elected Mr. Kyriakos Hadjiyianni (Cyprus) Chair along with Vice-Chair Mr. Michael Georg Link (Germany) and Rapporteur Ms. Susana Amador (Portugal).

List of deputies: Voronetsky Valery
All news